P U R P O S E

philosophy

I often ask myself. “Why do I do what I do?” As some of you may know, I have gotten more interested in art and graphic design and have recently opened up an Etsy shop.  Since elementary school, I knew that I loved to draw. That love for art and drawing has now developed into ways to be an encouragement to others and God has allowed me to start a business out of it. Once money is involved in something, it becomes easy to lose focus of what is important and to forget the original intention of starting that business.

This post is just to remind myself why I do what I do. In a nutshell, this is my art and design philosophy.

What Is A Philosophy?

Well, I’m currently in Bible college taking teaching and every teaching class I have taken so far has required me to write a teaching philosophy about that subject. According to Merriam-Websters Dictionary, a philosophy (of something) is “a theory underlying or regarding a sphere of activity or thought.” I have taken Teaching History, Teaching Literature, and Teaching Math so far in Bible College. One thing I’ve learned from all those teaching classes is that my philosophy towards everything should be based on God’s Word. Every area of life belongs to God–including science. God created everything. History is HIS story. Math is objective because God is objective. 1+1 will always equal 2, that will never change because God never changes. It is amazing because we can tie all aspects of life back to God’s character.

What Is My Personal Philosophy of Art & Design?

The funny thing is, you can tell how much I love what I do because I didn’t have to take a college class on art & design in order to develop my personal conviction and philosophy about it, unlike math and history and all that fun stuff. Not that I hate those subjects, but I just like art so much more than everything else haha. One phrase that I have clung to for my philosophy is “Created to Create.” 

CREATED

And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness… (Genesis 1:26)

So God created man in his own image, in the image of God create he him; male and female created he them. (Genesis 1:27)

God is the original Creator. He created absolutely everything. You and me, animals and nature. Don’t believe me, read the Genesis account. Not only did He create everything, He created everything just by speaking. How amazing is that? BUT do you know what is even more amazing? God created man in His own image. What God can do, we can do too. We are capable of having emotion, we know morally what is right and wrong, and we can create. Although we are created in the image of God, we are finite and limited. We can not create life like God can, we can not create the same beauty that God has created. Our creation is a mere imitation of the original creation. It is still beautiful but it is not as beautiful as the original. It may not be the same, but I am thankful that God even gives us the ability to draw or paint and the ability to have talents.

Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations. (Jeremiah 1:5)

God created me. He knows me intimately and personally. He has known from the beginning of time what my weaknesses and strengths are and the talents that I have. As a child of God, I am commanded to share the gospel with others and to love others. Whatever talents I have, they should be used to glorify Him and Him alone. Whatever I create, all the credit goes to God, not me. The sole purpose of what I do is to glorify Him and encourage others. I pray that I can somehow use my talent as a way to bring people to Christ. That is my goal as a designer and illustrator.

Whether therefore ye eat or drink or whatever ye do, do everything for the glory of God. (1 Corinthians 10:31)

I pray this post has encouraged you as much as it has encouraged me. It is so easy for me to lose focus of what really matters sometimes. I’m just reminding myself that what I have and can do is gift given by God. My talent really does not belong to me. God has given me it to be a steward of it. Someday in heaven I’m going to judged for what I have done with what God has given me. I want to make what I do count for God. I’m not in this to make money (although that is nice bonus), I’m in this because I love it and I know I can use to be a blessing to others. 🙂

– Lynndelynn ❤

Leave a Reply

